Type to search

Ghanaians go to the polls today- 8th Election in the 4th Republic

Ghanaians go to the polls today- 8th Election in the 4th Republic


Over 17 million Ghanaians will head to the polls today, Monday, December 7, 2020, from 7 am to 5 pm, to decide whether the flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo will be Ghana’s President for another four years or not.

President Akufo-Addo is facing keen competition from the National Democratic Congress’ (NDC) Presidential Candidate, John Dramani Mahama who served as Ghana’s President from 2012 to 2016, and 10 other strong candidates.

Today’s voting will also help Ghanaians elect their Members of Parliament.

Voting will take place in 38,622 polling stations in the 275 constituencies across the country as compared to 33,000 polling stations in the 2016 elections.

The Electoral Commission (EC) has assured that declaration of results will be done 24 hours after the polls, unlike previous elections where results were announced days after the polls.

The twelve include the flagbearer of the NPP – Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo, Presidential Candidate of the NDC – John Dramani Mahama, Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku – flagbearer of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP), Hassan Ayariga of the All People’s Congress (APC), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera of the People’s National Convention (PNC), among others.

error: Content is protected !!