Type to search


Emile Short chairs EC’s 21-member Eminent Advisory Committee


The Electoral Commission (EC) has launched a 21-member Eminent Advisory Committee to enhance engagement and interactions between it and the public as Ghana prepares for the 2020 general elections.

The committee, chaired by a former Commissioner of the Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ), Justice Emile Short, is part of the EC’s new approach of maintaining an open door that invites and responds to the concerns and interests of the citizenry.

The 22-man committee chaired by former CHRAJ boss, Justice Emile Short and assisted by Mrs Gifty Affenyi Dadzie, a former President of the Ghana Journalists Association; with members including Arch Bishop Nicholas Duncan Williams; Arch Bishop Palmer Buckle; Dr Eric Oduro Osae; Dr Rose Mensah Kutin; Dr Yaw Baah and Maulvi Mohammed Bin Sali.

Other members are Most Reverend Emmanuel Asante; Mr Affail Monney; Nana Ato Dadzie; Mr Sam Okudjeto; Mr Tony Forson; Mrs Freda Duplan; Nana Kobina Nketsia V and Rev. Dr Cryril Fayose.

The rest are Rev. Dr Opuni Frimpong; Rev. Ekua Ofori Boateng; Rev. Professor Emmanuel Martey; Rev. Dr Paul Frimpong Manso; Rev. Paul Kwabena Boafo and Sheikh Nuhu Sharabutu.

Speaking at the launching ceremony on Tuesday, the Chairperson of the EC, Mrs Jean Mensa said: “With the benefits of lessons we have learnt from the past, it is now the avowed goal of the current administration of the EC to strengthen Ghanaians experience of the commission.”


You Might also Like

error: Content is protected !!